Tuesday, October 28, 2008

FYI and other little tid bits.


A 50-year-old man SHOT at (and struck) two young boys in Ohio recently because they decided to deface his McCain sign in his front yard. My dad told me last weekend about a sign in someone's yard that said something to the effect of "Someone stole my McCain sign out of my yard. That is dishonor of the first amendment. If you try it again I will exercise my second amendment right to protect it." I guess these two guys are related.

In other news, the moron who didn't get enough attention from her parents when she was younger has been outed for making false claims that a man attacked her because she chose to display her McCain love on a bumper sticker. She fully admits to falsifying information on the police report.
She carved the "B" backwards ever-so-gently into her cheek so as to not leave scars. I hope this woman is thrown in jail. That has got to be the most unelaborate hoax known to man.

The current electoral vote estimate (cnn.com) is Obama - 277, McCain 174
270 votes are needed to win the presidency.
Virginians! We have less than SIX DAYS before our generation becomes famous for making national history! Do you realize how important we are? I am proud to be alive for this election.
Virginia has a total of 13 electoral votes. Democrats have not won VA for nearly half a century.
In six days, we will change that. Obama is leading 52-44 in Virginia! 08ama!

Want to keep updated with your lovely neighborhood? Here are some local community blogs created for specific areas of Richmond City:

Oregon Hill: oregonhill.net

The Fan: fdhub.net
West of the Boulevard (Museum District and Carytown): wotbn.net

Church Hill: chpn.net/news

Also, RVABlogs.com has a ton of information about the haps in Richmond. From there, you can visit local blogs, whether it be political, restaurant reviews, or just plain griping.

Monday, October 6, 2008

Busch Gardens

This weekend Trey and I went to Busch Gardens for Hallo-O-Scream. It was AWESOME. Awesome in a way that takes you back to childhood when your parents could let you run rampant in a theme park for several hours, all the while being jolted on cotton candy and ice cream. Before any of you die I suggest, among other things (I am currently working on a list of thing to do before you die), that you ride The Griffon and Apollo's Chariot. Sadly, I've come to realize that my balls are not as big as they were when I was younger. I was terrified to ride both of these rollercoasters. Remember when you were young and climbing to the tip tops of trees without looking down was a piece of cake? I now realize why people get more scared as they get older. Knowledge. Pure rationalization. You think "I'm going to fall and break my neck or perhaps chip a vertebrae in my back if I fall down this tree," but do you see five year olds convincing themselves of the same neurotic thoughts? I didn't think so.
The rollercoasters were so so SO much fun. I screamed. All the way down. And all the way up. I forced myself to keep my hands up as my stomach hit the back of my throat on the first drop on Apollo's Chariot. There is nothing holding your arms or upper torso in at all. The idea is scary in itself.
Due to some electrical malfunction, everyone who went to BG this past Saturday got half off of their tickets. That's $28! What a price! Trey and I didn't leave the park until 10:30pm. Luckily the lines weren't too long, and we were able to ride all the rollercoasters once, if not twice. My only regret of the day is not buying a big turkey leg. I LOVE gnawing on those things.

On a side note, I can't wait for the Richmond Yearbook's Homecoming! Too bad I can't fit into my prom dress from high school anymore :/