Monday, March 24, 2008

PISTONS!


We sat 15 feet away from the Pistons bench.
While everyone else was spending Easter Sunday with friends and family, I was busy getting Tayshaun Prince's autograph.




Louie and I went to DC for the weekend to see the Wizards vs. Pistons! It was my very first NBA game! I bought some pricey tickets online last month and scored good seats behind the Pistons. We had gotten there early and Tayshaun was warming up on the court. I was wearing his jersey (actually Louie's, but he was kind enough to let me wear it) and ran down to Mr. Prince and got the jersey autographed! I almost passed out from the excitement. The entire game was incredible! I watched every second with a huge smile. I guess you could say that I am a basketball fan. And damn, I have to say that Caron Butler can fly. He is nasty. I laughed while Rasheed Wallace got a technical during the 3rd quarter, and I wasn't surprised. He's such a crybaby. It's like, please, you are a millionare, stop bitching to refs about the calls they make!The entire experience blew my mind. Time flew by too fast and before I knew it, it was 4th quarter and Detroit was losing! They ended up losing to the Wizards but I am just happy I got to go and get Tayshaun's autograph. He was the only player who was giving autographs and about 6 of us were lucky enough to get it.

Side note: I was at Ireland's Four Courts pub before the game and the middle aged man sitting next to me at the bar and I started talking. Turns out he went to VCU and lived in my exact apartment complex in the room right above me in the 80's. He wasn't lying because he brought up all these things on his own. We geeked out for an hour, comparing stories and appreciating the similarities. What an oddly small world.

Sunday, March 16, 2008

Spring Break '08

Aaaah, a sigh of pure satisfaction. I thought this spring break was going to be lonely and boring because I had nothing to do, but instead of sitting on my ass I actually went and did some fun stuff. At the drop of a hat, and in a nice little nutshell, I travelled to Arlington, DC, VA Beach...oh and I went to a strip club. I am pretty satisfied with how much fun I managed to have. My only regret is not getting to hang out with Taryn more often this past week.

I have girlfriends from high school in northern virginia...they've all graduated college from schools around the states, but somehow managed to always find their way back home afterwards. It is so great to see them and to really talk and reminisce about our old days. One girl in particular had been a very close friend to me in 9th grade, and as we lost touch I felt this yearning to always hope someday for a reunion. Luckily she is friends with most of my friends still and I finally got to talk with her while up there. It was one of those hungover lazy sunday, wear your pjs until 4pm, be a vegetable on the couch kind of days. I enjoyed talking to her; I think it brought us closer. We had seen each other before plenty of times but usually it was in a bar or a drunken state of song-singing and an unnecessary amount of hugging.


I watched this past week as Taryn and a few of her friend's proverbial strip club virginity was lost...I only wish I could take her to a better one so she can see the real deal. I will not stand for medeocrity at my strip clubs. If you're looking for suggestions, the Candy Bar is great, and I think Paper Moon is decent too. All in all it was funny as hell and Taryn's got some great friends that I really want to start chilling with on the reg.

Oh god, so where do I start...basically Friday night my friend who has a house in VA Beach drunk dialed me and Danny and begged us to drive down there at that very moment...
And that is what we did! I loooove spontaneity. It makes life worth living and I wish more people were cool with it and did it more often. So we kill a 12 pack of PBR on the way down (shhh) and start drinking the second we get there. It was kind of like a little mini beach week haha. Our friend's house was AH-MAZING...he obviously is rich but I ate up every minute of it. They had a full bar, full fridge, and the house was right on the edge of the Chesapeake. We chilled on the beach until the wee hours of the morning and prepared for the next day.
Virginia Beach has the 3rd largest St. Patty's Day celebration in America. I shit you not. And John Paul (my friend who's house we were staying at) and his family pretty much run the show. It's a parade that starts at 9am with an average 190 floats, so it's just miles and miles of closed off road with people getting wasted and waving to fat chicks in belly dancer outfits and crazy floats of all kinds. After that ends, everyone shuffles to this huge parking lot where there's bands playing, Bud Light flowing from the heavens, and WASTED ass white trash everywhere. I'm serious when I say I have never seen so many mullets and rotted teeth in my life. Oh god it was incredible. We started drinking at 10am. THEN after 4pm it shuts down and everyone bombards the streets and walked to an ocean front bar called Greenies. By this time every fucking person you look at has a glare in their eyes worse than a setting sun on the ocean water. Everyone loves everyone, except when you're in line to go to the bathroom and someone cuts infront of you. I almost saw a couple of fights because of that. I don't know how many Irish Car Bombs and Bud Lights I drank through the course of the day, but I made matters worse by stopping at a Taco Bell/KFC and ate some chicken poppers. UGH bad move. We kept looking at our watches throughout the day and I swear I can't handle the fact that it was 3pm and I was shithoused. There were so many weirdos, jesus freaks, passed out girls on the ground, wasted asshole frat boys and the random assortment of old old old people who make you think "Why the fuck are you here!?" I loved every minute of it. AND I held my own and didn't barf. It was a great experience and I probably won't drink for a month.
Now I have to go back to school with what little brain cells I have left after this week. Man I didn't know I could drink that much.