Friday, February 29, 2008

life is pretty funny

...So I'm just settling down from having the most fantastically entertaining experience at Shafer with miss Taryn Dee. It was her first time to Shafer and her eyes were aglow and as big as saucers because hey, free food is free food. (I recommend to NOT try the battered catfish this week)
So we're sitting at a table and this girl sits down at a table nearby. Her outfit is pretty strange. She had bunched up her low v-neck purple shirt in the MIDDLE of her boobs and had it fastened with a hairtie. She sits down with this enormous bowl full of what looks like bird excriment which consisted of garbanzo beans, shredded cheddar cheese, and some green stuff. She sits down and stares at her bowl of puke with a huuuge grin on her face like she's just won a million dollars and it's in that bowl. Then she takes the salt shaker and with each and every bite, she shakes the salt shaker about ohh... 10 or 11 times onto every forkfull and gleefully piledrives her face with the artery-clogging concoction.
THEN, my friends, and this is Taryn's account, I unfortunately had my back turned when this moment ensued, but the girl dumps the food out onto the table (and good god how many icky frosh have eaten on that same table?), then proceeds to mush her food up with her hands, then scrapes it back into her bowl and continues to eat it, foregoing the pepper and sticking with her trusty salt. She breaks out into loud laughter sessions throughout all of this, as if trying to cover every bite with salt is some sort of game and dying is the winning prize. Jesus.
Taryn and I couldn't stop laughing, and one of us will likely put a missed connections post about her, but I also got worried and thought she was slightly ill or perhaps suicidal and this was her last meal. She disappeared before too long, leaving her salt-soaked goolash on the table for some poor VCU dining service employee to clean up. Garbanzo beans were sprinkled all over the floor and table, and I watched as a young employee glanced at the food, then glanced at me, and we exchanged the same disgusted expression with each other. I saw her cursing under her breath as she scraped the pile of shit into the trash. Poor lady.
GOD I couldn't stop laughing. It has pretty much made my week.

Taryn and I spent a good 2 hours just pigging out and relaxing at Shafer and come to find out, (as if I didn't love Taryn enough already), she and I know a TON of the same people from elementary/middle/high school. We both went to Bonnie Brae Elementary, and it turns out we had a lot of the same teachers and friends and accquaintances. The milk pouches, that poor suicidal kid, Alexis Deibler, Taylor Pool, and so many more memories are shared by the both of us and I've only met this girl, what, like a year and a half ago? I'd like to think our friendship was in the hands of fate and destiny, because it's creepy just how similarly we grew up. We both feel like we have known each other for years, when in reality we met because we dated the same guy. I can't help but laugh so hard about all of it, all the irony of Miah, and the incredible friendship that has come out of it. We must have passed each other in hallways or had the same exact friends but it took 12 years for us to meet! I'm in disbelief. Just like when Lauren Fukumitsu, an old friend from the same elementary/middle school, started dating my boyfriend's best friend.
I wonder how Mr. Ibbotson is doing.

Thursday, February 28, 2008

Sink full of dishes

So I took my mass communications SI intructor's advice and started a blog. I figure it might help a) release unspoken tension in my little soul and b) provide a way for me to constantly be exercising my writing skills (or lack there of).

This blog will probably be full of mundane gripes and elated happy moments in my day, which I suppose is the purpose for these types of blog things. Welcome!

I guess what I really feel like writing about right now is Spring Break. This semester is flying by and once again for the second year in a row I don't have spring break plans. I guess I could take that valuable time to find a job or do some charitable deed for the beautiful city of Richmond but I'm left yearning for sunny days in Cabo or soft velvet powder from Utah. Usually this time of year I'm out west with skiis strapped tightly to my feet, constricting the blood flow up to my brain and Deer Valley's famous chicken chili in my belly. My dad has flaked two years in a row on our traditional skii trips and that makes me sad, mainly because I can't help but admit this is strictly due to his meeting of my current stepmother. He is giving me $500 and a promise to take me to the Caribbean over the summer as compensation for my disappointment. It's a pretty good deal. I will probably just spend majority of the money on a trip with Louie to whoknowswhere and the rest on tattoos.
Still, it hits me that finding something fun to do for spring break is hard these days. Though it's no detriment to me, I am 23 and a "sophomore" in college. All my friends have graduated and spring break for VCU is now of little to no concern on their calendars. Having no binding plans does make me happy though, plus with a wad of cash in my pocket, I feel like I can go anywhere. Arlington is a must.