Monday, November 3, 2008

Election Day tomorrow!

Hi folks. Taryn, this post doesn't count for you, so stop reading here, haha.

For everyone else who can vote, I am encouraging you to dedicate at least 3 hours to the time it will take to vote. My grandma in Tennessee decided to do the early voting yesterday and waited THREE HOURS just to cast her vote. If the lines are that long on early vote days, I can't imagine what it will be like tomorrow.

Polls open up at 6 a.m. and close at 7 p.m. Locate your designated polling place and go there ASAP. Plan to wait in line.

My plan thus far is to wake up at 5 a.m. and hope that the lines aren't too long. It is probably people's idea to vote before work, so expect the early morning rush to be insane.

Even Republican strategists are predicting Obama's success.

To keep up with the progress of Obama/McCain's votes, go to:
http://www.cnn.com/POLITICS/ and look at Election Center 2008.


Mark Warner and Gov. Tim Kaine will be at the student commons at 5:00pm today!

Oh my gosh. I am just so elated right now.


P.S: I am in the Cabel library and overheard a girl walking by me talking to a guy and all I heard her say was "but there will always be that little seed of hatred that girls have towards other girls..." WOW.

Tuesday, October 28, 2008

FYI and other little tid bits.


A 50-year-old man SHOT at (and struck) two young boys in Ohio recently because they decided to deface his McCain sign in his front yard. My dad told me last weekend about a sign in someone's yard that said something to the effect of "Someone stole my McCain sign out of my yard. That is dishonor of the first amendment. If you try it again I will exercise my second amendment right to protect it." I guess these two guys are related.

In other news, the moron who didn't get enough attention from her parents when she was younger has been outed for making false claims that a man attacked her because she chose to display her McCain love on a bumper sticker. She fully admits to falsifying information on the police report.
She carved the "B" backwards ever-so-gently into her cheek so as to not leave scars. I hope this woman is thrown in jail. That has got to be the most unelaborate hoax known to man.

The current electoral vote estimate (cnn.com) is Obama - 277, McCain 174
270 votes are needed to win the presidency.
Virginians! We have less than SIX DAYS before our generation becomes famous for making national history! Do you realize how important we are? I am proud to be alive for this election.
Virginia has a total of 13 electoral votes. Democrats have not won VA for nearly half a century.
In six days, we will change that. Obama is leading 52-44 in Virginia! 08ama!

Want to keep updated with your lovely neighborhood? Here are some local community blogs created for specific areas of Richmond City:

Oregon Hill: oregonhill.net

The Fan: fdhub.net
West of the Boulevard (Museum District and Carytown): wotbn.net

Church Hill: chpn.net/news

Also, RVABlogs.com has a ton of information about the haps in Richmond. From there, you can visit local blogs, whether it be political, restaurant reviews, or just plain griping.

Monday, October 6, 2008

Busch Gardens

This weekend Trey and I went to Busch Gardens for Hallo-O-Scream. It was AWESOME. Awesome in a way that takes you back to childhood when your parents could let you run rampant in a theme park for several hours, all the while being jolted on cotton candy and ice cream. Before any of you die I suggest, among other things (I am currently working on a list of thing to do before you die), that you ride The Griffon and Apollo's Chariot. Sadly, I've come to realize that my balls are not as big as they were when I was younger. I was terrified to ride both of these rollercoasters. Remember when you were young and climbing to the tip tops of trees without looking down was a piece of cake? I now realize why people get more scared as they get older. Knowledge. Pure rationalization. You think "I'm going to fall and break my neck or perhaps chip a vertebrae in my back if I fall down this tree," but do you see five year olds convincing themselves of the same neurotic thoughts? I didn't think so.
The rollercoasters were so so SO much fun. I screamed. All the way down. And all the way up. I forced myself to keep my hands up as my stomach hit the back of my throat on the first drop on Apollo's Chariot. There is nothing holding your arms or upper torso in at all. The idea is scary in itself.
Due to some electrical malfunction, everyone who went to BG this past Saturday got half off of their tickets. That's $28! What a price! Trey and I didn't leave the park until 10:30pm. Luckily the lines weren't too long, and we were able to ride all the rollercoasters once, if not twice. My only regret of the day is not buying a big turkey leg. I LOVE gnawing on those things.

On a side note, I can't wait for the Richmond Yearbook's Homecoming! Too bad I can't fit into my prom dress from high school anymore :/

Monday, September 29, 2008

Grrrrr!

I just had to quit my job. Grr. I LOVE Tarrant's so much. Their food is so yummy. I am in school full time Monday through Thursday, and for some reason my boss seems to think I deserve to get NO shifts on the weekends because I'm not available on weekdays. For the past 2 weeks, he hasn't put me on the schedule. He blames me for being in school, and says other people want the good shifts too, and that I can't get them because I don't work during the week. WOW. I'm in SCHOOL you idiot. So, I quit. Blech. Not a good day.

Thursday, September 11, 2008

Yeah I know he's a pretty good read.

"she's young,
she said,
but look at me,
I have pretty ankles,
and look at my wrists,
I have prettywrists
o my god,
I thought it was all working,
and now it's her again,
every time she phones you go crazy,
you told me it was over
you told me it was finished,
listen, I've lived long enough to become a good woman,
why do you need a bad woman?
you need to be tortured, don't you?
you think life is rotten if somebody treats you rotten it all fits, doesn't it?
tell me, is that it? do you want to be treated like a piece of shit?
and my son, my son was going to meet you.
I told my son and I dropped all my lovers.
I stood up in a cafe and screamed
I'M IN LOVE,
and now you've made a fool of me. . .
I'm sorry, I said, I'm really sorry.
hold me, she said, will you please hold me?
I've never been in one of these things before, I said,
these triangles. . .
she got up and lit a cigarette,
she was trembling all over.
she paced up and down,
wild and crazy.
she hada small body.
her arms were thin,
very thin
and when she screamed and started beating me
I held her wrists and then I got it through the eyes:hatred,
centuries deep and true.
I was wrong and graceless and sick.
all the things I had learned had been wasted.
there was no creature living as foul as I
and all my poems were false."

-Bukowski


"we are always asked
to understand the other person's viewpoint
no matter how out-dated
foolish or
obnoxious.
one is asked to view
their total error
their life-waste
with kindliness,
especially if they are aged.
but age is the total of our doing.
they have aged badlybecause they have lived out of focus,
they have refused to see.
not their fault?
whose fault?
mine?
I am asked to hide my view point from them
for fear of their fear.
age is no crime
but the shame of a deliberately wasted life
among so many
deliberately
wasted
lives
is. "

-Bukowski

Wednesday, September 3, 2008

Long Post. Catching up.


I'm not even sure where to begin! I got back from Costa Rica a few weeks ago, all nice and tan. I had a wonderful time and there are millions of pictures on Facebook if you are interested. My trip included surfing, zip lining, ATV-ing in the jungle, eating delicious 5-star food, drinking heavily, and of course laying out poolside most of the time. Note to self: Don't fall asleep in the sun when you have a wristband on. The weather was perfect, the people were pleasant, and I never wanted to leave. It was my first time out of the country and what a first time it was!

Fall semester has started back up at good old VCU and I am taking 5 classes. It is pretty overwhelming so far. I am in this Mass Communications journalism class where the first thing they said on the first day of class was: "We all are professional journalists here to teach you, and if you don't bust your ass, we'll weed you out." So I am preparing to do a lot of learning this semester, which I completely look forward to. Living in Oregon Hill is convenient and I ride my bike to class (yay for some form of exercise!) but since I got a new haircut, my bangs are temperamental and usually end up looking like a 70's feathered haircut by the time I get to class. Ew. 

With all this presidential hoop-la I honestly just want the damn thing to be over with. I could care less how fucked up McCain's VP is or why Joe Biden sucks, I just want Obama to be my man. 

For Labor Day, I went to Trey's parent's cabin up in Bath County (about 3 hours from RVA) and spent the weekend with his family and their friends. What a blast. The cabin is sooo tiny. You can't so much as turn around in the bathroom without tripping over something, and majority of the vertical space is occupied by beds, lofts and stairs. With so many people (about 20) joining us, naturally a lot of us had to use tents and camp outside. Trey and I had such a fun time. I adore his parents, especially his mom. She's probably one of the nicest and silliest people I know. You never see a frown on her face, she's always got a drink in her hand (well, the only time we've hung out is when she's on vacation so that's okay) and she laughs constantly. My mood gets so goofy around her and I find myself laughing just because I see her laugh. She took real good care of us, feeding us and making yummy drinks (she has a special chocolate shooter that is to die for.) We relaxed by the fire at night while drinking, spent the days outside on rafts in the water (it was freezing) and played cards and Apples to Apples (a recent new addition to my favorite games of all time). Trey got a little too trashed the last night we were there and let's just say ground beef is the LAST thing you want to eat before a night of heavy drinking, especially when you have to share a tent with somebody else. Double ew. The last day, we floated down the river on tubes and enjoyed a relaxing yet hungover afternoon before the drive home. 

Trey wasn't feeling well still, so I drove us home. On the way, I started getting a sore throat. I thought nothing of it but by the time we got to his house, I was getting the chills and my throat was getting worse. I spent the rest of the evening sleeping. When I woke up for class, I was still in terrible conditions. I contemplated how bad the repercussions would be if I didn't go to school (being that we had already had Monday off) and realized I just couldn't do it. I went home and slept. all. day. Got up around 4pm because my entire bed was covered in sweat. I took my temperature throughout the day and from 12pm it was 101 and managed to spike up to 104.1 by 5pm. I was delirious, feverish, dizzy, and my throat was on fucking fire. Trey took me to Patient First around 7 and I got what was coming for me. Q-tips shoved down my already-painful throat, blood work (if it's anymore than 2 vials, I get woozy) and eventual test results showed that I don't have Strep (which I usually get once a year if not more) but that I had some raging bacterial infection. My white blood cell count was really high. Normal results are from 4.0-10.5 and mine came back as 18.8. The doctor freaked me out by saying that "if I don't get better by tomorrow, I will be admitted to the ER." Now the embarrassing part: I had to get two shots. In my butt. So right now I have two circular band-aids matching on either side of my ass and one big charley horsed behind. Today, my temperature was normal, and I returned to the doctor's per her request. They drew blood again and I'm now down to 15.9, but since it is Patient First and I don't even consider them REAL doctors, I let a new doctor today who had no idea what I went through yesterday bug me with the same redundant questions. He seemed perplexed as to why my doctor from last night gave me shots. He sent me home with antibiotics and (get this) codeine. Woohoo! So thus explains this post's longevity and incoherency. I am doped up on codeine. It's liquid form, mixed with tylenol, and although it kind of makes me nauseous, it is my best friend right now. Imagine if every time you swallowed (food or just saliva) it felt like you were swallowing a mouthful of razors. I can't eat, I can barely drink, and I am floating in space right now. I've been wearing the same clothes for 3 days, I haven't showered, I smell TERRIBLE, and look the part as well. Poor Trey has been so helpful and my cats have been by my side. Boogeyman has been ordained "The Littlest Prince" by my roommates because he's so dainty and agile. He is curled up next to me as we speak. So that's where I am in life right now. Broke, behind in school, and sick as can be. 

Taryn and I got our matching friendship tattoos and I LOVE IT. I miss her. See Taryn, I MISS YOU! You busy little wedding-planning bee!

Wish me luck on a speedy recovery!

Tuesday, August 5, 2008

Totoro!


I'm getting this scene tattooed on my leg on Friday by Jimmy at Salvation. I am SO excited! Crazy Miyazaki tattoos are addictive!

Thursday, July 3, 2008

Heading South.

I'm going to Costa Rica on July 20th. It will be my first time outside of the United States. Well, I went to Accapulco when I was 6 or 7, but I don't remember much. I just remember vomiting in the hotel because I ate some potato chips from the mini-bar fridge. Dumbass.

I just got back from the VCU Student Health Services center, and boy are they fantastic. I promptly got handed a "What To Do When Travelling" packet as well as about 10 other sheets of paper with useful travelling guidelines. Then, I got two shots. One in each arm. Hepatitis A and Typhoid fever. My arms are already showing signs of soreness and weakness, and I have to work tonight. That should be interesting, seeing as how I have to hostess and bus tables. Broken dishes, here I come! I also received antibiotics in case I get the poo poos, and some Malaria pills that I have to take before, during and after my vacation. Jesus I'm only going there for a week!
If anyone that still attends VCU didn't know it, you can get over the counter drugs (generic Tylenol, Advil, Aleve, Motrin, Pepto Bismol, allergy meds like Claratin and Allegra, as welll as daily multi-vitamins) for CHEAP. I'm talking $1. Today I bought Acetamenophine (NSAID...non-steroidal anti-inflamatory drug) for $1.50. I'm definitely going there for any of my pharmacy needs!

I simply cannot wait to go on this trip. We are going to a five star resort (what, you'd rather I be inland, sleeping in a tent, mingling with the locals and contracting herpes?) called the Paradisus Playa Conchal Resort in Guanacaste. If you take a look at the pictures on the website, it's obviously bound to be an amazing time. My only regret is that I can't take Trey with me. This summer has been so wonderful to me. So many incredible things are taking place. I found a great apartment with some good people, I have a job that I love, I have friends and relationships with people that grow stronger everyday, and I can't imagine being any more grateful for what I have. I'm getting a friendship tattoo with Taryn in August (Fred Pinckard, Salvation). I'm also getting a Totoro tattoo done by Jimmy Cumberland at Salvation sometime in the next month. I'm signed up for classes and ready to dominate them, head on. Now all I have to do is get in shape before the trip.

Monday, June 23, 2008

Along for the ride.

I went to my first hardcore show yesterday in Newport News. Lewd Acts, Kingdom, Original Sin and some other band I forget were the band du jour for the evening. Liberty 4 is a craphole. It's a room with a stage. And by stage I mean something made out of plywood that stretches maybe 10 feet long. Spraypaint tags and graffiti added a lovely decor feel to the room. The weather was not in our favor (a friggin terrential downpour), as the rain made the non-airconditioned venue stink and swamp up like a humid day in Richmond. It was fun and interesting, that is for sure.

I rode up in the pedophillic "Small World Child Care" van with Larry, Trey and Brett. Observation 1: Larry is a nutty driver. Of course the second we got onto the highway, there was an accident, which caused a 30 minute delay to our destination. No biggie! Larry's van had no A/C so I drenched my shirt in sweat as I jealously watched Trey and Brett go shirtless for the entire ride. Sticky leather van seats blow!

It took a little bit of "Who's going on first? Us? I thought you were!" to figure out the schedule but the show finally started about an hour after we arrived. During this hour, Larry, Stu, Kevin, Aaron and I all sat in the pederass van and drank. It smelled like MAN in that van, let me tell you. It was awesome though. I'm a tough girl.

Original Sin is fun to watch. So is Kingdom. They just returned from a tour in Europe. Their lead singer is this tiny little unshaven tattooed vegan straight edge girl. Her appearance gives off the notion that the band is iffy, but once she opens her mouth, you are blown away by what sounds mistakenly like a large man screaming mercilessly into the mic. I was amazed. I almost saw a fight, too. Typical! It would've been too cliche to see a fight at that show though and I'm glad it didn't errupt. Original Sin played for about 20 minutes and I couldn't help but tap my foot and nod my head to Larry's pelting and gigantic performance. I felt a rush of energetic electricity vibrate through my body as Trey, Stu and Aaron shredded. I'm no expert on music, but if it makes me vibe, then it's good to me.
Observation 2: Kevin Kauffman (drummer) is badass. Kevin is like the Yanni of drumming. It comes out of no where, you'd never think it if you saw him. Jaw-dropping percussion heaven.

After we packed up and listened to most of the show, everyone became groggy and tired. Newport News' sky and air was filled with smoke and campfire-esque fragrances due to some peet burning in NC (or at least that's Larry's story). We all had humidity headaches and the lack of water and decent food (my dinner was a tabasco slim jim and a pack of peanut butter crackers) turned everyone's mood into blah. Stu and Kevin rode back with us, as Brett drove and Larry continued to drink. Trey and I sat in the back using each other's shoulders as pillows. Observation 3: Brett drives crazier than Larry. To Larry, this was funny, because how could you not laugh at a 6'5" bouncer driving a ped van at 90 miles an hour with 5 people and a whole set of instruments in the back, all the while swerving and taking exit ramps at an alarmingly fast speed.
No one barely spoke the entire ride home. Except Larry. Observation 4: Larry LOVES Tim Barry. I do too, but jesus you'd think the singer of a hardcore band, after having a show, wouldn't want to sing for the rest of the night! We were serenaded by Larry for a good hour. It was soothing and far from what he does in Original Sin. I had so much fun last night.

Wednesday, June 18, 2008

Ohhh Hill.

I must be sick. For the past few months, I've been feeling extremely out of it. Dazed and confused. Lightheaded. Perhaps in need of a doctor's visit. I have my speculations. I only hope...eetz naught uh tumuuuur.
I move soon to the historically loco Oregon Hill on July 1st. Whilst in Richmond I had always desired to live there, mainly for the experience, and now I'm going to do just that. Aside from living pretty much down the street from one of my ex's girlfriends, I couldn't be happier. Audrey and Chris will accompany me for a year in a 3 bedroom, 2nd floor apartment. We will be proud renters of central air, a dishwasher, washer and a dryer. Ammenities Lauren hasn't had in years. A balcony on the front of the house is shaded by a big tree and I expect to spend many a lazy afternoons on it. Come join. Bring champagne.
I never updated after Memphis, but I can tell you this much, it was fun. Lots of fun. Then I went to the beach with Taryn and that was lots of fun too. I met good people. If you're a competent facebook user, no doubt you've seen the pictures. A flash before my eyes, a quick blink, a cat nap if you will, and boom, things've changed. I think fate is a funny thing to base your life around, hell, I don't even believe in it, but as someone recently said, crossing paths with certain people just seems...inevitable. One chapter ends, the next begins. Sometimes unexpectedly sooner than later. Sometimes a collision of chapters occurs. Sometimes the title of the new chapter makes you wiggle in your seat in anticipation of reading it. Whatever the name of this summer's chapter may be, let it be known that I am wiggling in my seat.

Tuesday, June 3, 2008

Pussy Troubles

I want to donkeypunch one of my cats. He is such a little shit all. the. time. When he's not sleeping and being a completely worthless ball of fuzz, he's knocking things over and constantly playing in the litter box. He'll go into it and paw around for 5 minutes and just play with the little pieces of litter. Great. I raised a child whose favorite past time is rummaging around in his own feces. Way to go, Lauren! And THEN, when he gets out of the litter box, he's got all these little pieces of litter in between his toes and enjoys jumping around my apartment and sprinkling them everywhere. I mean everywhere! He makes a running superman jump out of the litter box and all you hear is bits of clay flying all over my constantly-swept hardwood floor.
He bites my toes when I'm sleeping , follows infront of me in a zig-zag pattern so that I trip over him and pees on my dirty clothes when he feels like it. My other cat (Boogeyman, the one and only) is an absolute angel. But this one, by god, he's truly a re-re. What a worthless dingleberry.

Awkward moments: Or is it spelled "akward?" I'm too lazy to look it up.

-When you're walking a dog and someone is walking right by you when the dog decides to take a huge dump. You're just standing there trying not to notice but everyone knows your dog is pooing and it stinks.
-When you are having a good day and you are getting out of your car all the while singing under your breath a favorite tune and you look up to see somebody staring at you.
-When you're at CVS buying some tampons for when Aunt Flo visits and they have to announce over the PA that they need a price check. And yeah the people in line behind you are giggling.
-When you're changing the kitty litter and you haul a big trash bag full of disgusting excriment down to the shared garbage bins and somebody walks by your alley, noticing not only that it smells like shit but that you are a busted mess, wearing nothing but a see through tank top and shorts, minus a bra, flip flops, and of course still wearing the remainder of last night's makeup as it leaks from your crusty eyes.
-When you're leaving your apartment and as you exit the door, you say something stupidly cute to your cats in a high pitched baby voice only to turn around and realize your neighbor is walking by your door and thinks you are NUTSO.
I love those types of moments. Maybe I'm just crazy.


Feel free to comment and tell me YOUR a(w)kward moments!

Tuesday, May 13, 2008

Breathe deep

I got my Sperry's today. They are red with little anchors all over them. I'm turning into a regular prep. I also have a madras dress that makes me look like I belong at Foxfield. Shaddap.

Taryn got most of her color done today on her ribs...and it looks ah-may-zing. Fred's really great. I just love everyone at Salvation. Jimmy is stoked to do some more work on my leg! Miyazaki, I love you. I highly recommend Salvation to anyone. Of course anyone who reads this already knows that because they go there too.

I'm turning 24 tomorrow. I'm in this weird pseudo-fantasy like dream state where I'm in between feeling blissful and depressed. I'm well beyond adolesence yet I consider my inner workings and feelings as being child-like and naive. I'm still so young. I'm still so free. I'm still so silly and unsure of everything.


Thursday we leave for Memphis in May. My camera's full purpose while down there is to show proof that I was even in Memphis, because after we set foot on Beale St, I won't remember much. Memphis is my hometown and I can't wait to see my dad and be back in the south. My heart belongs there. I don't feel like writing much... this is a pre-phenominal weekend post. Post-party posting will be published soon...

Thursday, April 10, 2008

.

It's beautiful out. If you need me, I'll be at the river.

Monday, April 7, 2008

My hands become dry

like water, you run through my hands
i can't grasp your every drop
my fingers don't stay tight enough
and i watch you slip away.

you cling to the edges of my fingers
idle yourself on the surface
but gravity takes ahold
and i watch you slip away.

my hands catch my tear drops
clasped so tightly, it starts to fill up
but still it seeps
and now from both ends
i watch us slip away.

Saturday, April 5, 2008

Ok Karma, I've done my part.

The 10k started out rainy and miserable. I was wearing my superannuated Memphis State sweatshirt (they are now called University of Memphis, therefore this sweatshirt holds close to my heart) and it smelled like a wet dog. I was hungover. Damn Irish Car bomb.
It was a great experience. So many supportive Richmonders selflessly cheered us by the thousands with abiding smiles on their soaking wet faces. You felt a sense of community and pride for a good cause. I get so much joy out of doing races for cancer, breast cancer, aids, etc. I think next year I'm going to run it.
When I got home today, there was a sketchy black bag ontop of my car. It was getting rained on and I felt sorry for it. It reminded me of that Ikea commercial with the lamp sitting outside in the rain. It crossed my mind that perhaps I was being set up (I have mean weirdo neighbors) but I decided to look through it, being the snoopy gal that I am. There were 2 lovely glass bowls (you know, bowls), a scale, a pair of jeans, and a phone. I didn't know what to do, so I set it on the ground in hopes it would grow legs and return itself to its rightful owner. It was just too sketchy. After a couple hours in my house, I went outside to my car and the bag was still right where I had left it, unscathed and desolate. I took the bag into my car and drove to Nathan's parents house to have dinner, all the while pondering what I should do with it. Part of me wanted to keep some of the goodies inside, but most of me wanted to give it back to whomever was missing it. After dinner I checked the phone inside of the bag and someone had been desperately trying to leave text messages and voicemails. When I got home I called some number and a snobby girl answered. She probably didn't expect the bag to fall into the hands of a nice person. Her friend came by my house shortly afterwards to get reclaim it. This girl had to have been 18 or 19, a zitty little freshman most likely, with glazed red eyes and a pubescent skater punk by her side for refuge. Whoever's bag it was was obviously a pot dealer. The bottom of the bag was covered with a thick layer of little pretty green and red flakes. The old man in me wanted to tell the girl to be more fucking careful with such a valuable bag, but I didn't. Part of me wanted to slip a piece of paper with my number on it into the bag so that I could be rewarded, heh, but I didn't. I simply gave it back. And it felt great. Those kids are lucky it didn't fall into the hands of a perilous ganster or a Richmond bum who would've sold all of the contents for a bottle of cheap whiskey. I guess it doesn't matter what's in the bag, be it legal or not. What matters is doing the right thing. Foregoing my temptations to benefit myself with what was inside, it's worth it to be smiling right now, knowing the puerile teens of Richmond are taking a celebratory pipe to the face because of me.

Tuesday, April 1, 2008

Time to bust out the dresses?

AGH! Hurry up and get warm already! Someone is playing a foul trick on dear Mother Earth, poor gal. Here it is, April 1st and it's not even close to being shorts-deserving weather. Spring, I insist you get here, and get here fast...I need a tan and a reason to dress risque.

So Nathan (Taryn's boyfriend) fell off his bike today and broke his arm. He is in surgery right now because apparently it got pretty mangled. UPDATE! Just got off the phone with Taryn and he broke both his big bones in his forearm and completely ripped apart his wrist joint and the little bones in it. He is getting metal plates and screws. (poor Nathan!!)
I visited him at the hospital and I can't begin to describe the akwardly bulging mess that was his right arm.
His parents are super cute and his dad is especially super cute because he was wearing a suit and a pink bowtie when I first met him in the waiting room. I SO hope my husband dresses like that when he's older. I know Nathan will be okay because he is badass.

I almost made a drastic boo boo the other day. I am currently growing my hair out from last summer's butchering (although it turned out very cute but required monthly maintenance that I wasn't willing to take on) so my hair looks like shit right now. The other day I got this crazy idea (actually I've wanted to do this for a while but it lingers in the back of my head as a possibility) that I should chop all my hair off like a boy and bleach it blonde. First of all, it has recently come to my attention that Louie's ex-girlfriend has that EXACT smokin' Agy Deyn cut and obviously I can't do it now, but I reeeeally wanted to do something bold and goofy because hey, I think we can all agree that sometimes we get bored when we look into that mirror. I've spent literally hours looking at pictures online of this haircut and the other day I was I-------I close to walking out of the door and making an appointment with some flashy Richmond salon. Welp, by the time I got up the nerve it was 5pm on a Saturday and I couldn't find anywhere that was still open (aside from the neighborhood Hair Cuttery and ...fuck that.) So, I'm still at square one and I'm still growing my hair out. The thing is, I have lovely hair, it's healthy and got just enough wave to it but not too much, and the natural red highlights that shimmer in the sun are sparkly but I have no patience for hair-growing and wish it was longer than it is. I might eventually do this.

I am stoked about the Hills...I feel so far that this is going to be a juice-ay season.
C'mon Spring, gimme some.

Monday, March 24, 2008

PISTONS!


We sat 15 feet away from the Pistons bench.
While everyone else was spending Easter Sunday with friends and family, I was busy getting Tayshaun Prince's autograph.




Louie and I went to DC for the weekend to see the Wizards vs. Pistons! It was my very first NBA game! I bought some pricey tickets online last month and scored good seats behind the Pistons. We had gotten there early and Tayshaun was warming up on the court. I was wearing his jersey (actually Louie's, but he was kind enough to let me wear it) and ran down to Mr. Prince and got the jersey autographed! I almost passed out from the excitement. The entire game was incredible! I watched every second with a huge smile. I guess you could say that I am a basketball fan. And damn, I have to say that Caron Butler can fly. He is nasty. I laughed while Rasheed Wallace got a technical during the 3rd quarter, and I wasn't surprised. He's such a crybaby. It's like, please, you are a millionare, stop bitching to refs about the calls they make!The entire experience blew my mind. Time flew by too fast and before I knew it, it was 4th quarter and Detroit was losing! They ended up losing to the Wizards but I am just happy I got to go and get Tayshaun's autograph. He was the only player who was giving autographs and about 6 of us were lucky enough to get it.

Side note: I was at Ireland's Four Courts pub before the game and the middle aged man sitting next to me at the bar and I started talking. Turns out he went to VCU and lived in my exact apartment complex in the room right above me in the 80's. He wasn't lying because he brought up all these things on his own. We geeked out for an hour, comparing stories and appreciating the similarities. What an oddly small world.

Sunday, March 16, 2008

Spring Break '08

Aaaah, a sigh of pure satisfaction. I thought this spring break was going to be lonely and boring because I had nothing to do, but instead of sitting on my ass I actually went and did some fun stuff. At the drop of a hat, and in a nice little nutshell, I travelled to Arlington, DC, VA Beach...oh and I went to a strip club. I am pretty satisfied with how much fun I managed to have. My only regret is not getting to hang out with Taryn more often this past week.

I have girlfriends from high school in northern virginia...they've all graduated college from schools around the states, but somehow managed to always find their way back home afterwards. It is so great to see them and to really talk and reminisce about our old days. One girl in particular had been a very close friend to me in 9th grade, and as we lost touch I felt this yearning to always hope someday for a reunion. Luckily she is friends with most of my friends still and I finally got to talk with her while up there. It was one of those hungover lazy sunday, wear your pjs until 4pm, be a vegetable on the couch kind of days. I enjoyed talking to her; I think it brought us closer. We had seen each other before plenty of times but usually it was in a bar or a drunken state of song-singing and an unnecessary amount of hugging.


I watched this past week as Taryn and a few of her friend's proverbial strip club virginity was lost...I only wish I could take her to a better one so she can see the real deal. I will not stand for medeocrity at my strip clubs. If you're looking for suggestions, the Candy Bar is great, and I think Paper Moon is decent too. All in all it was funny as hell and Taryn's got some great friends that I really want to start chilling with on the reg.

Oh god, so where do I start...basically Friday night my friend who has a house in VA Beach drunk dialed me and Danny and begged us to drive down there at that very moment...
And that is what we did! I loooove spontaneity. It makes life worth living and I wish more people were cool with it and did it more often. So we kill a 12 pack of PBR on the way down (shhh) and start drinking the second we get there. It was kind of like a little mini beach week haha. Our friend's house was AH-MAZING...he obviously is rich but I ate up every minute of it. They had a full bar, full fridge, and the house was right on the edge of the Chesapeake. We chilled on the beach until the wee hours of the morning and prepared for the next day.
Virginia Beach has the 3rd largest St. Patty's Day celebration in America. I shit you not. And John Paul (my friend who's house we were staying at) and his family pretty much run the show. It's a parade that starts at 9am with an average 190 floats, so it's just miles and miles of closed off road with people getting wasted and waving to fat chicks in belly dancer outfits and crazy floats of all kinds. After that ends, everyone shuffles to this huge parking lot where there's bands playing, Bud Light flowing from the heavens, and WASTED ass white trash everywhere. I'm serious when I say I have never seen so many mullets and rotted teeth in my life. Oh god it was incredible. We started drinking at 10am. THEN after 4pm it shuts down and everyone bombards the streets and walked to an ocean front bar called Greenies. By this time every fucking person you look at has a glare in their eyes worse than a setting sun on the ocean water. Everyone loves everyone, except when you're in line to go to the bathroom and someone cuts infront of you. I almost saw a couple of fights because of that. I don't know how many Irish Car Bombs and Bud Lights I drank through the course of the day, but I made matters worse by stopping at a Taco Bell/KFC and ate some chicken poppers. UGH bad move. We kept looking at our watches throughout the day and I swear I can't handle the fact that it was 3pm and I was shithoused. There were so many weirdos, jesus freaks, passed out girls on the ground, wasted asshole frat boys and the random assortment of old old old people who make you think "Why the fuck are you here!?" I loved every minute of it. AND I held my own and didn't barf. It was a great experience and I probably won't drink for a month.
Now I have to go back to school with what little brain cells I have left after this week. Man I didn't know I could drink that much.

Friday, February 29, 2008

life is pretty funny

...So I'm just settling down from having the most fantastically entertaining experience at Shafer with miss Taryn Dee. It was her first time to Shafer and her eyes were aglow and as big as saucers because hey, free food is free food. (I recommend to NOT try the battered catfish this week)
So we're sitting at a table and this girl sits down at a table nearby. Her outfit is pretty strange. She had bunched up her low v-neck purple shirt in the MIDDLE of her boobs and had it fastened with a hairtie. She sits down with this enormous bowl full of what looks like bird excriment which consisted of garbanzo beans, shredded cheddar cheese, and some green stuff. She sits down and stares at her bowl of puke with a huuuge grin on her face like she's just won a million dollars and it's in that bowl. Then she takes the salt shaker and with each and every bite, she shakes the salt shaker about ohh... 10 or 11 times onto every forkfull and gleefully piledrives her face with the artery-clogging concoction.
THEN, my friends, and this is Taryn's account, I unfortunately had my back turned when this moment ensued, but the girl dumps the food out onto the table (and good god how many icky frosh have eaten on that same table?), then proceeds to mush her food up with her hands, then scrapes it back into her bowl and continues to eat it, foregoing the pepper and sticking with her trusty salt. She breaks out into loud laughter sessions throughout all of this, as if trying to cover every bite with salt is some sort of game and dying is the winning prize. Jesus.
Taryn and I couldn't stop laughing, and one of us will likely put a missed connections post about her, but I also got worried and thought she was slightly ill or perhaps suicidal and this was her last meal. She disappeared before too long, leaving her salt-soaked goolash on the table for some poor VCU dining service employee to clean up. Garbanzo beans were sprinkled all over the floor and table, and I watched as a young employee glanced at the food, then glanced at me, and we exchanged the same disgusted expression with each other. I saw her cursing under her breath as she scraped the pile of shit into the trash. Poor lady.
GOD I couldn't stop laughing. It has pretty much made my week.

Taryn and I spent a good 2 hours just pigging out and relaxing at Shafer and come to find out, (as if I didn't love Taryn enough already), she and I know a TON of the same people from elementary/middle/high school. We both went to Bonnie Brae Elementary, and it turns out we had a lot of the same teachers and friends and accquaintances. The milk pouches, that poor suicidal kid, Alexis Deibler, Taylor Pool, and so many more memories are shared by the both of us and I've only met this girl, what, like a year and a half ago? I'd like to think our friendship was in the hands of fate and destiny, because it's creepy just how similarly we grew up. We both feel like we have known each other for years, when in reality we met because we dated the same guy. I can't help but laugh so hard about all of it, all the irony of Miah, and the incredible friendship that has come out of it. We must have passed each other in hallways or had the same exact friends but it took 12 years for us to meet! I'm in disbelief. Just like when Lauren Fukumitsu, an old friend from the same elementary/middle school, started dating my boyfriend's best friend.
I wonder how Mr. Ibbotson is doing.

Thursday, February 28, 2008

Sink full of dishes

So I took my mass communications SI intructor's advice and started a blog. I figure it might help a) release unspoken tension in my little soul and b) provide a way for me to constantly be exercising my writing skills (or lack there of).

This blog will probably be full of mundane gripes and elated happy moments in my day, which I suppose is the purpose for these types of blog things. Welcome!

I guess what I really feel like writing about right now is Spring Break. This semester is flying by and once again for the second year in a row I don't have spring break plans. I guess I could take that valuable time to find a job or do some charitable deed for the beautiful city of Richmond but I'm left yearning for sunny days in Cabo or soft velvet powder from Utah. Usually this time of year I'm out west with skiis strapped tightly to my feet, constricting the blood flow up to my brain and Deer Valley's famous chicken chili in my belly. My dad has flaked two years in a row on our traditional skii trips and that makes me sad, mainly because I can't help but admit this is strictly due to his meeting of my current stepmother. He is giving me $500 and a promise to take me to the Caribbean over the summer as compensation for my disappointment. It's a pretty good deal. I will probably just spend majority of the money on a trip with Louie to whoknowswhere and the rest on tattoos.
Still, it hits me that finding something fun to do for spring break is hard these days. Though it's no detriment to me, I am 23 and a "sophomore" in college. All my friends have graduated and spring break for VCU is now of little to no concern on their calendars. Having no binding plans does make me happy though, plus with a wad of cash in my pocket, I feel like I can go anywhere. Arlington is a must.